The Lifestyle Rookie

Lifestyle update: HOBBIES!

Leave a comment

So, being that this is a lifestyle blog, I thought that I would clue my followers into a few of my active hobbies lately. This is actually a funny topic because if you sit down and have to write out what you do for fun, it really makes you see what kind of person you are. I have come to the conclusion that i’m kind of… sort of… super lame! With that being said, here we go!

Lately my obsessions (a mix of old and new) are the board game Settlers Of Catan, the TV show Game Of Thrones, the card game Cribbage, and cold press coffee with a shot of vanilla in it from the Blue Heron cafe in Winona, MN!

 

1. Settlers Of Catan-

BEST. GAME. EVER. If you are unfamiliar, it is a strategy game of settling and trading resources to achieve victory points. There are multiple versions of the game (recently played the sea farers adaption and let me tell ya, it was a whirlwind) but we typically just play the normal one as a house. My roommates and I love nothing more than playing this game at least once a day. I highly recommend it! WARNING: MAY CAUSE TENSION AND RUIN FRIENDSHIPS.

 

2. Game Of Thrones-

Ok. This one is a little stupid but a little great. I still am unsure as to how I feel about this show… it’s filled with incest and lying and weird sex scenes and murder but I keep wanting to know what happens next! I’m getting kind of attached to the characters now and have decided by unpopular opinion i’m team Lannister. I know. Get your pitch forks ready. IT’S SO GOOD THOUGH! (Season 4 just started on HBO this past Sunday, so commit to it and get watching!)

 

3. Cribbage-

Recently my friend Josh taught me how to play and this is my newest favorite thing. Such an old person game, but super fun. I feel like this skill will come in handy at the most surprising time… so i’m glad i’ve started mastering it. I want to get a cool themed board of my own. Pug themed perhaps! I think YES!

 

4. Cold Press Coffee-

This is the one i’m excited to share with you guys! Cold press coffee is my obsession. Not to be confused with iced coffee, there is a difference! What is cold press you ask? Let’s ask our BFF Wikipedia:

Cold brew or cold press refers to the process of steeping coffee grounds in room temperature or cold water for an extended period. It is also sometimes referred to as Toddy coffee which is a trademarked cold brewing system.

The cold-press process requires grinding: coarse-ground beans are soaked in water for a prolonged period of time, usually 12 hours or more. The water is normally kept at room temperature, but chilled water can also be used. The grounds must be filtered out of the water after they have been steeped using a paper coffee filter, a fine metal sieve, aFrench press or felt in the case of the Toddy system. The result is a coffee concentrate that is often diluted with water or milk, and can be served hot, over ice, or blended with ice and other ingredients such as chocolate.”

Ooooahh! Sounds delicious right? IT IS! The cafe downtown Winona I always get mine from is the cutest, and the coffee is so good it requires no milk or anything added. Pick a flavor shot and you’re ready to roll! Go get one of these immediately!

Alright friends! That’s it for my hobby update! Have a good week ❤

 

Author: Everyday Mallory

Beauty, Fashion & Lifestyle! I am a makeup enthusiast, trend watcher, luxury dreamer, coffee drinker & pug lover. I like writing about things I'm passionate about and sharing my personal tips with the world!

Leave a Reply

